My name is Kelly, Jay’s mom, and I want to share a little about my 17 year old son who passed Aug. 3, 2009, only one month before his 18th birthday. Jay was the absolute light of my life, my husband, Steve, his brother Zach and sister Zoey. Jay graduated with honors in May, and he was planning on attending UT Martin on two scholarships in late August. He had a job for the last two years and was looking forward to moving on to the new chapter of his life. Unfortunately, that day never came. Instead of moving him into his dorm room, we planned a funeral and buried Jay. He died playing “the choking game.” The choking game is a game good and smart kids play not understanding the deadly effects. Jay and I were as close as two people could be. We talked in length every day, I was interested in his “business,” and I love my kids! I now know that wasn’t enough involvement. Although I do not have the answers, I am trying to understand and educate myself on these games. I will love Jay forever, and I hope this message reaches as many parents as possible to save at least one person from dying and one parent from the pain my family has endured and will continue to feel for a lifetime. I will love you forever, Jay! Love, mom!

susies pics 044[1]susies pics 380[1]susies pics 263[1]Jay

8 Responses to “”

  1. JimmyBean Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Lynette Smith Says:

    Kelly
    I am the mother of Landon Smith he and Zach go to school together, I live on Stephen Hill Rd. I am very sorry for the loss of Jay, I didnt know him but I do know Zach and he is a very fine boy. I want to tell you that I really appreciate you sharing your story and bringing this Choking Game to my attention and making us aware of this problem among kids, I had no idea this even existed. Like you I try to stay very involved in both of my boys lifes, I have a older son who is 19 (Shiler) and I will be more aware of the signs of this deadly game. Again Kelly I am very sorry for your loss.

    Sincerely

    Lynette Smith

  3. Online Stock Trading Says:

    There is obviously a lot to know about this. There are some good points here. 🙂

  4. BloggerDude Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

  5. Tina Smith Says:

    Kelly, I am so glad we found each other, I think our children brought us together to be life long friends because of our common tragedy just one day apart from each other. The same cause that is somehow called the “game” Our children Jay and Tyler are now skateboarding from cloud to cloud together, hanging out and being silly kids. I am so sorry for both of our losses, at least we know they are together, not alone, and that somehow helps.

  6. Pam Says:

    First I would like to say I am terribly sorry for your loss. I am sending hugs and prayers to you.

    Hello my name is Pam Overton, I have a 14yr old child. Dalton, used to laugh and have fun all the time. He now just does nothing. I think he and his friends are playing that dangerous game. He passed out while at school, but he did not want the nurse to call and let me know. I am scared to death. I know boys will be boys. What advice would you give me. He is at the age where parents know nothing. Moms least of all.

  7. lauren murray Says:

    Mrs. Kelly,
    I went to school with your son. We weren’t super close but we have had some in depth conversations. Jay loved you and the rest of his family, honestly, he talked about ya’ll in almost every conversation we had. Your son was an amazing person and I am extremely happy that you have the courage to speak up about this horrible game. You are a very strong woman and my sympathy goes out to you.
    much love,
    lauren.

  8. Terri Crane Says:

    Dearest Kelly,
    I know you probably don’t remember me but J.B. & my ex husband Larry used to work together.I admire your strenght through this most difficult time.My son just informed me he has never heard of this game ,but he was thankful we talked about it. I know you will save alot of lives by sharing your pain.If you ever need ANYTHING please never hesitate to email me on my yahoo terrij35555@yahoo.com & i will send you my #…..GOD BLESS & WE WILL KEEP YOU & YOUR FAMILY IN OUR PRAYERS……….AGAIN THANK YOU Terri Crane

Leave a comment